Eater 2010 Restaurant Awards Announced

Announced today, the 2010 EATER AWARDS, presented by GREY GOOSE. In 50 categories spanning seven cities, the winners comprise a diverse bunch of the finest and most interesting chefs, operators, and characters in the country. We applaud!!

Restaurant of the Year


ABC Kitchen, The Breslin, Del Posto, Eleven Madison Park, Torrisi Italian Specialties, Roberta'sFinalists: Del Posto, Eleven Madison Park, Roberta's

Winner: Torrisi Italian Specialties*

So Hot Right Now


Burger & Barrel, The Lambs Club, Lotus of Siam, M. Wells, Osteria Morini, Peels

Finalists: Burger & Barrel, M. Wells, Osteria Morini

Winner: Osteria Morini

Chef of the Year


Einat Admony (Balaboosta), Daniel Humm (Eleven Madison Park), Dan Kluger (ABC Kitchen), Mark Ladner (Del Posto), Anita Lo (Annisa), Michael White (Alto, Convivio, Marea, Osteria Morini)Finalists: Daniel Humm (Eleven Madison Park), Mark Ladner (Del Posto), Michael White (Marea, Osteria Morini, Convivio, Alto)

Winner: Michael White (Alto, Convivio, Marea, Osteria Morini)

Shaker of the Year


Damon Boelte (Prime Meats), Jim Meehan (PDT); Julie Reiner (Clover Club); Greg Seider (Summit); Phil Ward (Mayahuel); Yana Volfson (Freemans, Peels) Finalists: Damon Boelte (Prime Meats), Jim Meehan (PDT), Yana Wolfson (Freemans/Peels)

Winner: Yana Volfson (Freemans, Peels)

Keith McNally Restaurant of the YearAwarded annually to the Keith McNally restaurant that opened closest to press time.

Winner: Pulino's

Danny Meyer Empire Builder of the YearIn recognition of a chef, restaurateur or team whose heads-down, unbridled need for an empire in 2010 came closet to matching that of Empire Builder Meyer himself.


Michael Bao, Chris Cannon and Michael White, Dave Chang and Christina Tosi, Scott Conant, Ken Friedman, Gabriel Stulman

Winner: Chris Cannon and Michael White

Jean-Georges Vongerichten Award for Quietly Killing ItAwarded to the person or team whose 2010 ascent was most ninja-like.

Winner: Frank Falcinelli and Frank Castronovo

Daniel Boulud Award for Most Originally Named Restaurant of the YearNamed in honor of the best restaurant namer there ever was.

Winner: Fat Radish

Eric Ripert's Kids AwardAwarded to a young chef who would benefit most from a day of serious Buddhist training from Eric Ripert.

Winner: César Ramirez

Thomas Keller Benefit-of-the-Doubt AwardPresented to the Keller Alum who will surely get it right because he worked for Keller. He will, right?

Winner: Jonathan Benno (Lincoln)

Tom Colicchio Up-and-Coming Stone-Cold Hustler Award Blink and you'll miss Tom Colicchio inking another lucrative deal.

Winner: David Chang

Comeback of the Year Presented to that restaurant whose return from the dead proved most grand.

Winner: The John Dory

Shitshow of the Year, New York


Abe + Arthurs, Bar Artisanal, Kenmare, The Lion, Rouge Tomate, Shang

Winner: Kenmare

Spectacle of the Year, New York


4Food, Ace Hotel, Josh Ozersky's Wedding, Marcus Samuelsson, McNally vs. Platt, Tavern on the Green

Winner: Josh Ozersky's Wedding (and Subsequent Media Shitstorm)

Eater Door Prize for Toughest Door of the Year


The Boom Boom Room, Jane Hotel, Kenmare, Le Bain, Provocateur

Winner: The Boom Boom Room

For more national winners and all chef and restaurateur winners across the country click through here


Popular Posts